Three states, three registration routes, and one tempting shortcut: compare the dollar amounts and declare a winner. The agencies’ own pages explain why that would be a mistake. Colorado asks a new account for a license fee and a $50 deposit that is returned under stated conditions [1]. Ohio charges $50 for a vendor’s license [5]. Washington charges a $50 processing fee on a business license application that covers far more than sales tax [7].
This article, one in a series drawn from the 2027 Business Permit Nightmare Index preview commissioned and sponsored by EfilePermit.com, separates those charges by type. The preview is a review of published guidance in selected states, not a nationwide fee ranking, and the figures below are not a ranking of cost.
Three kinds of charge, one confusing label
- A license or permit fee. The amount an agency charges to issue the registration itself.
- A deposit. Money the agency holds and, under stated conditions, returns. It is a cash-flow cost, not a fee the business ultimately pays.
- A broader business-license processing fee. A charge for an application that may cover several registrations at once, of which a sales tax account is only one.
- License fee
- Deposit (returned under stated conditions)
- Business license processing fee (stated as non-refundable)
Amounts are not a like-for-like comparison. Each bar shows a different kind of charge for a different registration route. Endorsement, trade name and local fees can add to these amounts.
Colorado: a small fee and a returnable deposit
The Colorado Department of Revenue prices a sales tax license by when the application is filed. For applications from July through December 2026 the license fee is $12. It was $16 from January through June 2026, and the schedule lists $8 and $4 for the first and second halves of 2027 [1].
New accounts also owe a $50 deposit with the application. The agency says the deposit “will be refunded automatically after a business has collected and paid $50 in state sales taxes,” and that it is required only on the first business location [1]. In its own example, a new account plus a license for one location would total $66, which uses the January–June fee of $16. For a July–December 2026 application the same arithmetic gives $62.
Two details keep the headline number from being the whole story. The renewal page says each physical location must have its own license [3]. And the application page cautions that the license covers only state and state-collected tax jurisdictions, so a business inside a home-rule city must contact that city about its own license requirements [2]. Our article on local registration takes that up.
Ohio: $50, up from $25
The Ohio Department of Taxation says that effective April 9, 2025, the fee for a new vendor’s license rose from $25 to $50 [4]. The vendor’s license applies to a person or business selling taxable goods from a fixed location in Ohio, with a separate license for each location. The agency says that includes physical storefronts and selling items online within Ohio [4].
Applicants have a second route as well. The department says businesses may apply for a vendor’s license through their county auditor, and it publishes a list of active vendors [4].
Ohio lists other license types too. A transient vendor license also costs $50, and an out-of-state seller license is listed with no fee [4]. On timing, the department strongly recommends applying through its online OH|Tax eServices system, where it says applicants can obtain their account immediately. A paper application, it warns, may take up to six weeks to process [5].
Washington: a license application, not a sales tax fee
Washington’s number is the easiest to misread. The state’s Business License Application is a general-purpose form used to apply for many state and city endorsements, registrations and permits, including a Unified Business Identifier and tax registration [6]. The $50 charge is a processing fee for that application. The Department of Revenue calls it non-refundable and says it applies when opening the first location of a new business or reopening one with no active locations. Other filings carry a $10 processing fee, and an annual renewal carries $5. All of these come on top of any endorsement or trade name fees [7].
The department says the application takes about 10 business days to process, and that city or state endorsements may add two to three weeks [6]. It also lists who needs a license, including businesses that sell a product or service requiring the collection of sales tax [6].
| State | Charge | Amount | What it is | Refund status stated by agency |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Colorado | Sales tax license | $12 (Jul–Dec 2026) | License fee, set by application date [1] | Not stated on the page reviewed |
| Colorado | New-account deposit | $50 | Deposit on first location [1] | Refunded automatically after $50 in state sales tax is collected and paid [1] |
| Ohio | Vendor’s license | $50 | License fee per fixed location [4] | Not stated on the pages reviewed |
| Washington | Business License Application, new business | $50 | Processing fee, plus any endorsement fees [7] | Stated as non-refundable [7] |
Why adding the numbers up misleads
A reader skimming the bars could conclude that Colorado is the most expensive state at $62 and Ohio and Washington are cheaper at $50. That reading fails on three counts. Colorado’s deposit comes back once the business has collected and paid $50 in state sales tax, so it is a temporary outlay. Washington’s fee buys an application that can register a business for far more than sales tax. And each figure leaves out local licensing and endorsements that may apply on top.
What the three states do show is that the cost of “getting a seller’s permit” depends on the route, the timing of the application and the number of locations. None of that appears in a single dollar figure.
How to read an agency fee page
- Find the date range. Colorado’s fee changes by half-year, so the same application costs different amounts depending on when it is filed [1].
- Identify the charge type. Look for words like “deposit,” “processing fee” and “license fee,” and for whether the agency says anything about refunds.
- Count the locations. Colorado requires a license for each physical location, and Ohio requires a vendor’s license for each fixed location [3, 4].
- Look for what sits on top. Washington adds endorsement and trade name fees to its processing fee [7], and Colorado notes that home-rule cities handle their own licensing [2].
Where guided help fits in
Reading a fee schedule correctly is only the first step. Applicants still need to identify the right registration pathway, supply accurate information and prepare the application. Owners can file directly with the state, and every agency above provides an online route. Others use a private service such as EfilePermit, an AI-assisted registration service that charges a $99 service fee, separate from any government fees or deposits.
Frequently asked questions
How much does a Colorado sales tax license cost in 2026?
The Colorado Department of Revenue lists a $16 license fee for applications from January through June 2026 and $12 from July through December 2026. New accounts also owe a $50 deposit.
Is the Colorado $50 deposit refundable?
The agency says the deposit is refunded automatically after the business has collected and paid $50 in state sales taxes. It is required only on the first business location.
Did Ohio raise its vendor’s license fee?
Yes. The Ohio Department of Taxation says new vendor’s license applications increased from $25 to $50 effective April 9, 2025.
Is Washington’s $50 charge a sales tax permit fee?
No. It is a non-refundable processing fee for the Business License Application, which covers many registrations. Endorsement and trade name fees are separate.
The takeaway
Before you compare states by price, ask three questions: what kind of charge is it, when does it apply, and how many locations does it cover? Budget for deposits as cash you will wait to recover, and check each agency for local licenses and endorsements that sit on top of the state figure.
Sources and verification
Last verified: October 20, 2026. Figures and rules come from the agency pages below and can change. Check the agency for current requirements before you file.
Colorado figures were checked against Internet Archive copies of the Colorado Department of Revenue pages dated January and February 2026, because the live site blocks automated retrieval. Confirm current amounts on the agency site before filing.
- Colorado Department of RevenueStandard Retail License and fee scheduleThe live site blocks automated retrieval; reviewed through an Internet Archive copy dated January 19, 2026.
- Colorado Department of RevenueHow to apply for a Colorado sales tax licenseThe live site blocks automated retrieval; reviewed through an Internet Archive copy dated February 15, 2026.
- Colorado Department of RevenueRenew your sales tax licenseThe live site blocks automated retrieval; reviewed through an Internet Archive copy dated February 10, 2026.
- Ohio Department of TaxationSales and Use Tax
- Ohio Department of TaxationApplication for Vendor’s License to Make Taxable Sales (ST-1)
- Washington Department of RevenueBusiness licensing and renewals FAQs
- Washington Department of RevenueVariable business license processing fees
About this research
Articles in this series draw on the 2027 Business Permit Nightmare Index, a research preview that reviews published agency guidance in selected states. It is not a completed 50-state empirical ranking. We cite official agency sources, show when each page was last verified, and do not publish statistics, quotes or rankings we cannot source. EfilePermit commissioned and sponsors this research and has a commercial interest in assisted permit filing. Nothing here is legal or tax advice.